Twilight blues

The new flower shoots are now snugly biding their time under a fine blanket of new  snow.  I went out to savor the silence early yesterday evening, shortly before darkness  fell.  The branches of our little hawthorn were delicately powdered, and the small   amount of remaining light that filtered through the heavy clouds and falling snow rendered everything in delicate shades of blue.  How lovely.

Twilight blues

Twilight blues

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Twilight blues

  1. Frank Wallace says:

    Greeting card fodder. Nice.

  2. zannyro says:

    Gorgeous! Love the “mood” of this image!

  3. wolke205 says:

    Wunderschön!! :)

  4. victoriaaphotography says:

    What a beautiful shade of blue.
    Christmas Card material I should think. I’ve made my own Christmas cards several years running now. I don’t know that they work out any cheaper than buying them, but it is nice to send family & friends your own photographic creations.

  5. What a beautiful image, Gary. It almost looks like a painting. Lovely blue tones.

  6. krikitarts says:

    I had just been talking to CD about doing some shooting by snowlight earlier yesterday, and then this opportunity just jumped out at me. I love the way it turned out, and plan to do more as the occasions arise. Thanks a lot for the great feedback!

  7. Meanderer says:

    That’s gorgeous Gary. I agree with other commenters re: greetings card material.

    • krikitarts says:

      I was just thinking, Cindy–wouldn’t it be interesting to pair this with one of your new tropical sunrises? The ultimate warm and cool combo!

      • Yes! Sort of opposite ends of the spectrum :). We just found out from my son that the snow has been melting at home while we have been away, and that makes me very happy because it would be totally depressing to go from this mild weather to the five foot snowbanks that were in our driveway when we left LOL!!

  8. Adrian Lewis says:

    Gary, in my opinion, that’s the most beautiful image you’ve produced for a long time! I’m totally hooked on it! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      High praise indeed, Adrian! There was actually quite a bit of wind that accompanied the snowfall, and I was very surprised to see how much of the new snow had stayed perched on the hawthorn branches. And I didn’t do anything at all with color adjustment; it just turned out that way with my choice of the moment to make the shot.

  9. seekraz says:

    Those are some familiar colors…. Very pretty image, Gary.

Leave a Reply

