Silly Saturday: Pocket Pretzel

Back in 2007, while on a working trip to Australia, I had the chance to visit the family of the young man who was to become my first son-in-law a year later.  Their home was a drive of some two hours south of Brisbane, and on a Saturday we made a trip to the nearby Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary.  One of the attractions was a large, fenced enclosure in which a walking path permitted interaction with a few dozen kangaroos of varying ages.  One mother roo in particular caught my eye as her joey started to climb into her pouch, but stopped the process somewhat before all of his parts were fully aboard.

Pocket Pretzel 754As the sole of his foot is obviously facing skyward, I’ve wondered many times how he managed to get into quite this position and if it was really comfortable enough to stay that way.  I’m pretty sure he was the only occupant at the time.  He surely doesn’t look overly concerned, though!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Silly Saturday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Silly Saturday: Pocket Pretzel

  1. victoriaaphotography says:

    I’ve often wondered about how the older, larger Joeys fit in to the pouch anyway. Going by my own zoo photos of the kangaroos with joeys, I think they must be completely tangled up at times.

  2. krikitarts says:

    Yeah, tangled up and blue! They must surely be among the original inspirations for contortionists.

  3. settleandchase says:

    So funny! Animals really are such great subjects aren’t they..always some sort of crazy behaviour :)

  4. krikitarts says:

    I’ve loved them all my life and to this day am delighted to have based my career on them!

  5. seekraz says:

    Nature’s a trip….

Leave a Reply

