TheFour Sisters (plus two)

Several of my followers have pointed out that I made specific reference to a natural wonder in New Zealand’s primeval forest called The Four Sisters in my last post, but did include an image of them.  I would like to rectify that deficiency.  Though one can see only three of the four large kauri trees in this photo, one can still get a grasp of their immense presence and why they are so revered.  To help to give a reference to their scale, I have included CD and Schwes (the other two sisters) in my image.

7702 postHere is another photo that I made of another of my favorite New Zealand trees, the Rimu (Dacrydium cupressinium), several of which were growing adjacent to the path we took on our visit to the Four Sisters.

7725 post

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to TheFour Sisters (plus two)

  1. victoriaaphotography says:

    Wow!
    They…..are…..big…..trees (in that first image).

  2. Finn Holding says:

    The kauri trees look as though they must have been there when time began! They’re simply majestic. Wow.

    • krikitarts says:

      That’s a great way to describe them, Finn. It’s really sad that there are so few of them left. They have a real presence–an aura, if you will–that one can sense when walking among them.

  3. wolke205 says:

    Die Natur bringt immer wieder die schönsten Kunstwerke hervor :) Liebe Grüße

  4. Meanderer says:

    The size is incredible – like an ancient giant’s legs. I visited an arboretum today and remarked upon the girth of one particular tree but it seems so diminutive compared to this. How wonderful to have been close to them.

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Oh I love those trees, Gary – well I love trees generally – but those in your upper photo really are impressive, and I love the great leaf-covered mound they’re growing on, pushed by their roots I suppose, and making them look even more impressive. Good stuff! Adrian

Leave a Reply

