Places remembered: Matapouri

In New Zealand, a holiday getaway place is commonly called a bach (pronounced batch).  What usually comes to mind when one talks about a bach is a fairly straightforward affair, maybe just a couple of rooms, quite low-maintenance, and rather uncomplicated, but comfortable and friendly.  There’s a website called rentabach.com, where an impressive range of available baches can be found, with a whole spectrum of features, from simple to luxurious.  Following Batty’s wedding, a group of us spent varying portions of the next week at a bach that she located on the website, in the community of Matapouri, on the North Island’s east coast, a few hours’ drive north of Auckland.  This is a lovely part of the country, very quiet and with a beautiful, sandy beach.  It’s also a great base from which to explore other points of interest—more about that in future posts.  But today I’d like to take you to the country just outside our door, in Matapouri.  This may not be everyone’s idea of the ideal honeymoon, but Batty is a most generous person and was delighted to share her first week as a newlywed with family and friends.  The weather was wonderful, the sea warm enough to swim in quite comfortably, and a truly grand time was had by all!

7756

7602

7808

7608

7921

7891

 

 

 

 

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Places Remembered and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Places remembered: Matapouri

  1. Wow, that is gorgeous!!! I must add it to my dream destination list :). I could really see myself relaxing on that beach!!

    • krikitarts says:

      Any trip to New Zealand is very well worth whatever it takes to get there. And when you go, let me know in advance, and I’ll be happy to provide as many insider tips as you wish!

  2. victoriaaphotography says:

    Just beautiful.
    I think I’d better add NZ to my wish list. It’s hard to find some of these tiny beaches where you have the pleasure of Just Looking and….. Being in the Moment (without another person to spoil the view).

    • krikitarts says:

      I’ve found some really special little surprise places in Australia too, during my travels there. The best part of being a serious photographer is the way our eyes develop to see so much, and so many possibilities, that so many others only look at in passing. But yes, you are so right that it does help a great deal to be in the company of someone who knows the area (but is happy to get out of your frame before you shoot)!

    • krikitarts says:

      That it is, M. One part of me wishes I could have stayed for more of the week, but other places were calling me, as you’ll see shortly. I fully expect to return for more exploration, though. All in good time…

  3. Adrian Lewis says:

    Like the second one down especially, Gary – those leaning trees are so powerful! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      They have to be, to withstand the prevailing onshore winds. BTW, the trees are pohutukawa (po-hoo-too-KA-wa)–one of my favorites there. They love the extreme coastal conditions, as do I.

  4. seekraz says:

    Beautiful images, Gary…what a place to spend such a special time.

  5. Winnie says:

    Breathtaking. Would love to get there some day. My niece lived there for several years studying volcanoes, but I was unable to make the trip while she was there. I’ve been told the people are lovely and the lifestyle is inviting.

  6. krikitarts says:

    You’re so right about the people being lovely, and after having visited no fewer than 50 countries, this is surely my favorite.

Leave a Reply

