Serenity Sunday: Barry’s Bay

I haven’t presented a new Serenity Sunday photo in about three months, but I’m in that kind of mood today, having slept in and looking forward to a cool, gray day of unpacking and setting up Christmas decorations.  For today’s offering, let me take us back twenty years and two weeks.  I was driving on the road that runs along the shore of Akaroa Harbour in Banks Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, and as I passed through the town of Barry’s Bay I had to stop for this view looking out toward the heads that bracket the mouth of the harbour.   The tide was in and the water was almost perfectly calm. 

Akaroa Harbour from Barry’s Bay

This remains one of my all-time favorite photos.  The camera was a Pentax PZ-1, the film Tri-X pushed to 800, and the lens a Pentax 28-105.  I shot it at 1/500 second and f/11 and used an ultraviolet filter.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Barry’s Bay

  1. Angeline M says:

    Ahhh………perfect way to start my Sunday with this beautiful photo.

  2. krikitarts says:

    Thanks a lot, Angeline–delighted to help you start your day!

  3. Beautiful bw image Gary, enjoy your Sunday!

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m enjoying it very much. Hope you are, too! It’s getting dark and I’m just about to light the Christmas lights that I put up today–and a nice fire in the fireplace, too.

  4. Wow… that’s just what I needed. Beautiful!

    • krikitarts says:

      I’ve been back to that spot at least a half-dozen times since then, but never managed to catch it under similar conditions. There was bright sun or choppy water or the tide was out and the mud flats exposed…that makes this all the more special for me.

  5. Memories….best part of getting older – we have more of them! Love the image and the mood it creates

  6. krikitarts says:

    So very true. And we are especially fortunate to have this passion that enables us to preserve our fondest memories so well.

  7. Finn Holding says:

    I can see why it’s a favourite, it’s very atmospheric. I love the symmetry from the reflections.

    (But surely the Kiwis could have conjured up a more imaginative name for it than ‘Barry’s Bay’!)

  8. krikitarts says:

    Actually, Barry’s Bay is the name of the town. The town of Akaroa lies a couple of km clockwise around the harbour, which has its name from the latter. I agree that it’s a much more picturesque moniker. This area, by the way–Banks Peninsula–is one of my favorite spots in the whole country.

  9. Meanderer says:

    Lovely – and so serene.

  10. seekraz says:

    Simple and beautiful…very clean…looks like a wonderful place.

    • krikitarts says:

      Since I found this place, every time I’ve been able to go back I’ve tried to include it in my itinerary, and I’ve found new wonders with each new visit. Check it out on Google Earth–it’s the peninsula that bumps out into the sea just below Christchurch, halfway down the east coast of the South Island. The town of Barry’s Bay is pretty much at the northernmost edge of the harbour.

      • seekraz says:

        It looks like a drop of land getting ready to drop off into the sea…I can imagine that it’s beautiful…and worth the intentional stop whenever you get over there….

  11. Adrian Lewis says:

    Stunning image, Gary – it would also look good rotated by 90 degrees anticlockwise! Adrian

Leave a Reply

