Belated birthday bulletin

My report on my birthday celebration, nearly a month ago, is long overdue.  As I’ve reported in the past, I traditionally invite my three best friends up to the cabin for a week of music and photography, and this year was no exception.  The only downside of the otherwise full-fledged fun that we had was that Rick, my oldest friend and the newest member of our band (Indian Summer) could not be with us because of recent surgery.  But Tom and Ron made it, and this year we had a special agenda.  Tom had made a date for us to give a concert in the Historic Ironwood (Michigan) Theater on my birthday.  So, whereas we usually have spent about half of our daylight hours cruising the woods of northern Minnesota, this year we rearranged the furniture to simulate a stage and secluded ourselves indoors to settle on a final playlist and spent most of our time polishing up our act and (for Ron and me) building our calluses back up to performance levels (Tom teaches guitar at the local college and his are always in fine shape).

On the day of the concert, Ron and I drove the four hours to Ashland, Wisconsin, to pick up Tom (he’d gone home the night before to get all the gear we’d need into his car) and drop Limo off for an evening of boarding, and then we went on to Ironwood.  We headed straight for the theater, unloaded our three guitars, bass, fiddle, two banjos, and Tom’s recording equipment, and got everything pretty much set up.  Then a quick trip to the motel to check in Ron and me, and back to the theater for nearly three hours of sound checks; Tom is very experienced, very good at this, and a perfectionist.  Finally, a quick trip out to the home of a friend of Tom’s for some fantastic wild turkey soup.

We had no real idea how many people would show up, but we were delighted to find that, by the time we started to play, we had an audience of around 150.  We dedicated the concert to Rick and did two sets, for more than an hour and a half of music, and played only original material.  All of us were very well pleased with our performance.  The vast majority of the folks who came had never heard any of our music, and they were wonderfully enthusiastic.  After the concert we had many compliments, sold a number of the CDs that Tom, Ron, and I had recorded during a previous lake session back in 2003, and received an invitation to put on another concert next year, so those who came can spread the word to others and expand our fan list.  Several recordings (including video) were made, and we have high hopes of making a new CD with them.

 

The next morning Ron and I drove back to Tom’s (he’d gone back home with his family after the show), stopping for a view looking westward down the big hill at Maple, Wisconsin.

We went out for a Mexican feast with Tom & family, and I picked up Limo, who was exceedingly glad to see me again.  Eager to stretch my legs and give him the opportunity to do so too, Tom and I paid a visit to a nearby campground where we’d spend many days in the past, and walked around one of the two small lakes between which our favorite camping spot is nestled.  The northern Wisconsin colors were pretty much at their peak, and it was so good to get back into the lovely autumn woods again.  Then back to the cabin once more, picking up a big pizza along the way.  What a wonderful birthday!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Belated birthday bulletin

  1. zannyro says:

    Sounds just perfect for your birthday…HAPPY BELATED!!!!!!! Congrats also on your successful concert :)

  2. Frank Wallace says:

    You MUST get one of your songs up on YouTube for us all to see!

  3. A birthday spent with close friends doing what you love most – what could be more perfect? I’m so glad you had a great time. Happy Birthday!! :)

  4. Happy Birthday(belated)…and no doubt with all the fun you and your friends had it is a case of roll on next year!

  5. seekraz says:

    It looks and reads like you had a wonderful time, Gary…beautiful photos…lovely colors…and a happy birthday, too. :)

  6. MikeP says:

    What a fantastic birthday with truly special friends!!

  7. Finn Holding says:

    Belated happy birthday wishes Gary. That’s a truly excellent way to mark another orbit around the sun.

    What type of music does your band play? Will you upload a tune here to keep your global fanbase happy :-)

  8. krikitarts says:

    How kind of you to ask, Finn! We have composed all of the music that we play, and when folks ask what kind of music I play, I usually reply that I’m an old folkie. I taught my self to play the acoustic guitar, starting when I was a freshman in college, by listening to the music of Paul Simon; Peter, Paul, & Mary; Joni Mitchell; Judy Collins; Bob Dylan; and The Beatles, to name a few. I do plan to upload something from our concert, as soon as it’s available–It’s all in Tom’s capable hands, but he’s really busy. He said he’d try to get us something with a week or so, so stay tuned!

  9. settleandchase says:

    This just sounds like an altogether perfect birthday! I wish I had a cabin in the woods..folk don’t really do that here..And I agree, I would like to hear the music please!

  10. krikitarts says:

    Actually, Cath, as some of you are requesting music, I should let you know that I’m afraid it will be some time before Tom manages to put the time into what needs to be done before we can offer recordings of the concert–however, I still have a fair number of the CDs that we made in 2003 and would be happy to send you one, if you wish. They are US $15 plus $4 for shipping. If you’d like one, please e-mail me your address and I’ll rush one right over to you!

  11. Happy very belated birthday wishes for you Gary. It seems that you had a fantastic day, would love to hear one of your songs! Let us know when you upload it in youtube

Leave a Reply

