The last rose of summer

There is an old, familiar feeling in the air.  It’s mostly melancholy, as the nights are slowly but relentlessly growing cooler and longer and the morning sun seems a little more hesitant each day to bring its warmth and light to try to keep the inevitable farewell to summer at bay for just a little longer.  But tomorrow is officially the first day of autumn and the whole outdoors seems to know it.  I’ve heard from Schwes that the colors in northern Minnesota are at their absolute peak—at least two weeks earlier than in recent years.  I will be going up in five days for several weeks of fun with friends and family (more on that in the very near future), and I dearly hope that most of the fall foliage will wait for a few days past my arrival.  Meanwhile, I’m making my preparations to be sure that I have everything in order down here in Omaha and will have all I will need to make the fullest of our last trip north for the year.  As I looked out our back window yesterday, one new rose stood out amid the yellowing greens that form its backdrop, and there was almost no breeze, so I spent a few minutes in appreciation.  It may not be quite the last of the season, but if it’s not, there will not be many more to follow its brave example.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The last rose of summer

  1. seekraz says:

    Beautiful, Gary…and tender words, too. Enjoy your travels…will look forward to learning of your last visit up north for the year.

  2. wolke205 says:

    Einfach wunderschön….

  3. Mike Powell says:

    Fall is my favorite time of the year. As such, my feelings about the changing seasons are something other than melancholia, Yet I can appreciate the desire to savor the last fleeting moments of what is about to change. Photography is helping me to cultivate that deeper sensitivity, a capability (and a desire) to slow down and really look at my surroundings. I get ready to say good-bye to the summer and cherish the memories (and photos) of some wonderful moments. There is, however, no sadness, no regret. The new season, I hope, will provide me plenty of new and different opportunities and I await them with great anticipation. Best wishes as you seek to enjoy the fall foliage, Gary.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m right with you, Mike. The deeper sensitivity is one of the very best things about developing a real interest in serious photography. I am so eager to immerse myself in the newly-transformed north woods again!

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Good image, Gary – I like the way the flat, green leaves are all descending towards the left beneath the bloom, and I like the bloom’s colours and textures very much – a close up of the bloom alone would be good. Your first two sentences are very evocative too – yes, its that time of year! Adrian

  5. krikitarts says:

    The plane of the leaves was a very welcome coincidence. I like your suggestion–if we get a really calm day while it’s still in full blossom (and maybe as it fades), I’ll see about trying to get closer. It’s at eye-level and not easy to approach closely, but, hey! Another challenge!

  6. MikeP says:

    Love your backstory… very well written…OH, and the pic is pretty good too!!!!

  7. krikitarts says:

    Thanks very much, Mike. I’m really keeping my fingers crossed that the majority of the display will hand on long enough to give me at least a few days to immerse myself in it. Dare I hope for a week? Oh, yes, I dare!

Leave a Reply

