Cool and unusual

At long last, a modicum of relief from the exceptional drought conditions we’ve been having!  Victoria offered to send us some of theirs from Australia yesterday, and it must have worked.  It wasn’t much, only a (small) fraction of an inch, but it drizzled lightly for a few hours and that was extremely welcome.  There has also been a delightful drop in temperature—in fact, we matched a 120-year record low a few days ago.

The combination of the precipitation and the lower temperature has also had quite an effect on some of the insects I’ve been focusing on recently.  After catching up on website comments and reviewing new posts today, I went back out to check out the trumpet vine where I had such good fortune yesterday and found a small bumblebee who was unusually slow, meticulous, and patient (a kindred soul), and was taking great care to explore unopened blossoms with its proboscis (tongue), apparently cautiously eager to be the first to sample the new nectar before it becomes available to all comers.  Further, the breeze was considerably less than what I had to contend with yesterday, so I was able to shoot at lower sensitivity and use my tripod and two extension tubes for greater detail and even more intimate macros.  These little bumblebees (my friendly entomologist buddy thinks they are probably Bombus impatiens) are rapidly joining the ranks of my all-time favorite insect subjects.  This is such grand fun!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cool and unusual

  1. Victoria says:

    Spectacular photos. Looks like he needs a haircut though.
    (and………….the rain looks like it’s clearing a bit today…….thanks for talking some of our rain away so I can get outside for a photography excursion).

  2. krikitarts says:

    I think his main grooming need is not so much a haircut as a moustache trim. Thanks so very much for sending some rain our way, Victoria, it is very greatly appreciated. And the news that you were able to get out and about again is a bonus. Can’t wait to see what came of your new freedom!

  3. Spectacular!! I love how in the first shot you can see all the individual sections of his body. Very detailed!!

  4. These are awesome! Beautiful colours & beautiful compositions!

  5. MikeP says:

    Thanks Gary…. really like the tongue shot at the bottom… don’t know if he is sticking it out at you or getting a drink. :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      Just getting a drink, Mike, trust me on this. If I had invaded too much of his personal space, he would have considered using his more effective means of deterrent, and he didn’t. So I consider us passive members of a mutual admiration society.

  6. jackien50 says:

    Beautiful Gary. Only you could take such wonderful photos that capture the heart and soul.

  7. seekraz says:

    Amazing shots…love that detail. :)

  8. Finn Holding says:

    He’s a beauty, and I reckon there’s more going on behind those eyes that we humans give them credit for. Lovely series of macro shots.

  9. krikitarts says:

    The eyes are really fascinating in their own right, and I, too, often find myself wondering–especially when you can see them more clearly than when they’re busily buzzing around. Thanks, Finn!

  10. cynnermack says:

    The detail is amazing in these images! My favorite…The little guy staring you down #2119.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks so much for stopping in, Cindy. Yes, that was a very special moment. I know you guys specialize in landscapes, and do so with admirable dedication. I do love that genre as well, though I’ve been focusing my inerest a bit more intimately recently; I’m bound to swing the other way again soon.

  11. Adrian Lewis says:

    Absolutely beautiful portraits, Gary! I think the third down is my favourite, it has that “Hello, here I am” feel about it. Adrian

  12. krikitarts says:

    It surely does–and thanks for being here too, Adrian!

Leave a Reply

