Green on green

The day before yesterday, back in the newly-growing woods, I had stopped to try to get close to a few small, golden dragonflies, but by the time I had the lens I wanted on the camera and had crouched down into a relatively-comfortable posture, they had dispersed and did not appear inclined to return to their perches.  So I unfolded myself again from my shooting position (I did not have my tripod with me), and as I was resuming an upright stance, my eye was attracted by a bright-green object on a darker-green leaf about halfway up a 5-foot-tall poplar seedling.

As I looked more closely, I saw that a tiny tree frog, not more than ¾ of an inch (2 cm) long was resting on the leaf.  It was comfortable enough with my presence to allow me to scavenge two pieces of branch to form a makeshift bipod to give me a bit of extra stability for a portrait shot.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Green on green

  1. seekraz says:

    Tender life…. Nice find, Gary….

  2. Frank Wallace says:

    Nice.

  3. Nice little fellow…..looks as if you disturbed his sleep!

  4. Meanderer says:

    How lovely. What a cutie!

    • krikitarts says:

      I’d really like to know how he got to that spot, that far off the ground. I think they don’t jump that much or that well–he must have climbed the stalk!

  5. Oh, he’s sooo adorable, and he looks so comfy :). That’s a wonderful photo! I kind of giggled when I first read your post this morning as my imagination is obviously in full swing already today. When I read “back in the newly-growing woods”, I imagined that you said “back in the 100 acre woods”, and I fully expected to see a picture of Winnie the Pooh!! Ya, I know, I’m a little bit nutty!

  6. He looks so comfortable, like he’s winding down from a long day of catching insects. I want to be him. So peaceful.

  7. wolke205 says:

    Der hat ja mal einen total entspannten Gesichtsausdruck :) Super Foto!

  8. Adrian Lewis says:

    Excellent portrait, Gary! Adrian

  9. How very beautiful. That great expression reminds us that frogs are living creatures too…

Leave a Reply

