Sweet Sunrise

The day before yesterday I was up at dawn to do some fishing with one of my best friends in this world.  By the time we arrived at our destination, the sun had already made considerable progress in its rising.  When my canoe was ready to go with fishing gear, I saw that the sun was heading behind an unusual, single, cigar-shaped cloud, and I waited until it was behind the cloud to shoot the three shots I needed to make this HDR image.  Tom, a most kindred soul, did not in the least mind the minor delay.  Nor did I.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sweet Sunrise

  1. Bill Chance says:

    Beautiful shot of a difficult subject.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Emily Gooch says:

    Beautiful capture of a tranquil moment. Hope the fishing was good. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      The fishing was great–it always is. And the tranquility lasted for several hours before the wind started to come up. And we shared the little lake with a pair of loons!

  3. Glad the fishing didn’t get in the way of photography! I hope the day turned out as good as it looked at the start

  4. Jeff Sinon says:

    The fish will always be there, well worth the wait.

  5. So beautiful!! I love the reflection :).

  6. seekraz says:

    Beautiful photo, Gary…and what a wonderful place to be with a good friend….

  7. Meanderer says:

    “Calling occupants of interplanetary craft …….”. The reflection makes this seem all the more otherworldly.

  8. krikitarts says:

    I had exactly the same feeling when I saw the cloud!

  9. You are my hero. I know I will always see perfection when I come to your blog.

  10. So beautiful … and something speaks out in this image. Maybe there WAS an interplanetary craft behind that cloud. :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      Who knows? It was certainly not your average cloud, and may well have been hiding something in its midst–on the other hand, the cloud itself may have been the craft. I’d like to think so, and I’d like to meet them!

  11. krikitarts says:

    I’m a believer, too, and have been pretty much as long as I can remember. One of my fondest hopes is that I’ll still be around when the existence of others is finally confirmed.

Leave a Reply

