It’s not as it seems!

When I took Limo out for his constitutional this evening, I had a good look around, as usual, and I was fascinated by a phenomenon that I have not seen before.  When cicadas are ready to metamorphose to their final stage, they leave the safety of their underground lairs and climb a handy structure, latch on, and split their skins to emerge as the imago (adult) stages.  What was so special about this one is that a second one apparently found that the choice that the first one had made, for a location in which to complete this process, was so ideal that it followed suit exactly and latched on to the husk of its predecessor.  Although it looks, at first glance, like some hanky-panky was going on, ‘twas not the case.

Last August I had the chance to observe a few in the process of emerging; they always, I believe, do this at night, probably because they’re safer from predation.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s not as it seems!

  1. Wow, that’s freaky. I had to really examine it closely to figure out what was what. What an amazing capture Gary!! :)

    • krikitarts says:

      They really are fascinating creatures, and I was so “lucky” to have happened upon the emergers–not everyone’s idea of natural beauties, but truly amazing design!

  2. Helen Cherry says:

    very well spotted gary !

  3. MikeP says:

    Ahhh.. Cicadas, loud, ugly but truly fascinating!!!

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks a lot, Jeff! BTW, I agree with your commentor that the moth with the feathered antennae is a Ctenucha (not a Scape), but I think it’s a Brown, not a Virginia. I left the scientific name in a comment to your post.

  4. ndjmom says:

    As a kid we called them jar flies, don’t know why. My Boxer puppy thinks they are great fun to play with, but she thinks everything is great fun at her age. Great photos, I’m looking forward to following you.

Leave a Reply

