Derelict Duo

I drove the 500 miles from the cabin in northern Minnesota back to Omaha today, and made two stops along the way that I’d like to share with you.  The first was for a long-abandoned building that I have been admiring for many years.  Usually, when I pass by, there is harsh sunlight and deep shadows, and we seem to be in a hurry to complete the journey.  Today, though, with CD in New Zealand getting to know our new granddaughter, it was just me and Limo; the sky was overcast, and I had plenty of time.

The second was for a much-newer derelict that caught my eye as I crossed the bridge over the Cottonwood River (or possibly Sleepy Eye Creek)—and I’d really like to know the story behind this scene.  A bicycle had been left mired in a sand bar, in an upright position, giving rise to considerable speculation.  I will certainly check to see if it’s still there when I go back up in five days, and will confirm the name of the waterway.

In any case, both scenes appeared to want to be rendered in monochrome, and I haven’t offered much of that lately, so here are a couple of new additions in that classic medium.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Derelict Duo

  1. Both great images….not going to vote as which is the best!

  2. Who abandoned the bike? What happened and where is the owner? How long ago? Will the owner return? How does the owner feel? Sad? Angry? Frustrated? So many questions! It’s a wonderful photo because it leaves the viewer wondering. I was talking to a cyclist friend the other day and this bike looks like a bike he described as a mountain bike. So someone apparently was doing off-road cycling. OR, mountain bikes are sold cheaply and in abundance at places like Walmart, so may be it was a kid who didn’t know much about biking and got stuck. I love this photo!

  3. I love both photos – they are definitely stories waiting to be told :).

    • krikitarts says:

      There really is something haunting and eerie about abandoned objects that certainly, at some time meant a great deal to someone. Thanks a lot, Cindy; maybe one of these days I’ll find the time to either do a little more research into their actual history or, like Scott, come up with a story line that will raise the hairs on your neck.

  4. seekraz says:

    Oh, the stories to go with those beautiful photographs, Gary…and we wonder….

    • krikitarts says:

      Scott, you are so right about the stories. With your amazing gift for speculation and narrative, I would love to see what you could come up with, especially regarding the abandoned bicycle. I drove by the same spot, for the first time again since making the shot, yesterday, and it was still there, and appeared not to have moved at all. I have done some further research, and I believe that the waterway is the Cottonwood River, just south of Sanborn, MN, where it flows under Hwy 71, roughly halfway between Windom and Redwood Falls. I really do wonder, indeed . . .

      • seekraz says:

        Thank you for the invitation, Gary…and your kind words. It might take me a little bit, but I will try to find something to match the history and tone of your compelling photographs…..

  5. kerryl29 says:

    Those are both terrific shots; I must admit to being especially partial to the first–the abandoned building. Great composition and it works marvelously well in monochrome.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thank you, Kerry. I’ve been following your amazing adventures in photographic paradise, and am very happy to hear from you. Yes, the derelict on Hwy 210 is something I’ve been keeping my eye on for many years. Next time I pass it by, I’d like to get a little closer–and, for Dezra, much closer–and try to see if I can get some inside perspectives. It’s always been a monochrome situation for me. We’ll see what develops in the near future.

  6. MikeP says:

    What a nice catch… love the bike. Here in Jersey anything old with a lot of character get taken down before I can get back during optimal light.

    • krikitarts says:

      That’s really funny–and sad, Mike. I really love the bike shot, too. I guess the alternative is to bracket as much as possible and make your own ideal light. Not always the ideal option, but sometimes there’s only one chance. You’ve done so well with the fleeting moments that you’ve graced with your art that I’m tempted to say that you shouldn’t lament too loudly the opportunities that slipped away, but then again, the ones that I would have loved to have been ready for, but wasn’t, or didn’t take the time to stop for, start to haunt me yet again, and again, and again . . .

Leave a Reply

