Wee three (and a new name for an old friend)

Although I’ve been back in my beloved woods of northern Minnesota for several days now, I must admit that I’ve not been as productive in catching up on my posts—and my comments and feedback on yours—as I had hoped.  I’m here alone, and I’ve had so much to do with windfall cleanup and other pressing projects that my website has had to be relegated to a back burner.  That’s not to say, though, that I haven’t reached for a camera when my photo angel stepped in and guided something my way—I have done so, and I’m sending three of the small folk your way again to share them with you.  More will be forthcoming, but this is a start.

I am working to put a name to the little jumping spider in the first image.  The second is very likely a juvenile  goldenrod spide, Misumena vatia.  The third is one of my all-time favorite insects, the red-banded leafhopper, Graphocephala coccinea.

By the way, my photographic guardian angel has finally whispered her name to me, after all these years during which she has been watching over me.  She is Frances.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wee three (and a new name for an old friend)

  1. Well, thank goodness for Frances because these are amazing captures!! The first shot is perfection :).

  2. Love the jumping spider especially. You too should be jumping (with joy) for that shot.

    • krikitarts says:

      Hello, Michael, and thanks for your kind comment. Yes, I was very pleased when I had my first close look at this one, and I hope I can put a name to him/her very soon.

      • I’m finding that identifying the things I shoot is often harder than shooting them (whether it be insects, plants, or birds)

      • krikitarts says:

        And not nearly as much fun, but it’s a worthy extra step nonetheless. I have a daughter who is very into spiders, a friend who is an insect expert, a number of taxonomic tomes, and a few favorite websites that are also a great help, but it still bothers me when I can’t take the extra step and give a favorite subject its “true” name.

  3. wolke205 says:

    Fascinating & disgusting at the same time… ;) I do love the first pic.. Die erste Spinne, der ich zugestehe ein klein wenig niedlich zu sein und nicht ganz so furchteinflößend ;)

    • krikitarts says:

      Fortschritt! Das nehme ich als ein hohes Kompliment, dass Du es nicht wieder fuer eklig gehalten hast. Die kleinen Springer sind ehrlich ganz faszinierend, und ich glaube, die beissen Menschen so gut wie nie. Wenn man ganz zaertlich an sie herangeht, springen sie oft an die hand, und lassen sich ganz nah betrachten (oder vielleicht umso besser uns zu studieren).

  4. Helen Cherry says:

    Fantastic captures.. 1st class

  5. Alex Khoo says:

    Very nice captures here!

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    Good pictures, Gary – especially the top one! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      That was my favorite from the session, too. My, but you have such good taste! They are actually such fierce predators, with fangs way out of proportion to the size of their bodies, that in macro studies they are usually nightmarish. But this one looks almost warm, fuzzy, and cuddly. Must have caught him in an off-moment.

Leave a Reply

