Flashback Friday: Dip Falls

If memory serves, March 1995 was when I made my first visit to Tasmania.  It’s one of the states of Australia, roughly the size of the state of Maine in the USA, and is the 26th-largest island in the world.  It had long been on my short list of places to see, and I was very eager to explore its mysteries.  As I recall, I had only a Friday (a work day), a Monday (another work day), and the weekend between to see what I could of this fabled island.  Friday’s activities were in Hobart, on the southeastern coast, and Monday’s in Smithton on the northwest coast.  This gave me the whole weekend to travel through the center of the island, stopping in a bed & breakfast in the town of Oatlands on Saturday night.  I’ll share more of this journey in future posts, but for this Flashback, I’d like to take you with me on the last leg of my chosen route on Sunday.  It was late afternoon, and I’d driven through Cradle Mountain–Lake St. Clair National Park, northward to the coast at Devonport, and then to the west.  As I drove between Burnie and Smithton, the light began to fade, but I saw a small sign that said “Dip Falls.”  Though I’d already had a full and delightfully-exhausting day, on impulse I turned south and drove as fast as I legally could to the parking lot, grabbed my camera backpack and tripod, and hot-footed it for something like 15 minutes to hike to the falls.  I had enough light for only a few shots before I had to make my way back to the car while I could still see where I was putting my feet.  I have since had the chance to visit it again, but the lighting conditions and the amount of water flowing have never matched what I found on that magic day, a little over 17 years ago.

Pentax PZ-1 (tripod-mounted), Pentax 28-105mm zoom lens at 28mm, probably around 4 seconds at f/11, Fujichrome Velvia

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Flashback Friday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Flashback Friday: Dip Falls

  1. That is not a flash back….but a splash back! The rocks look like Basalt (like the Giants Causeway and Staffa) is that the case?

    • krikitarts says:

      You’re absolutely right, David, and I meant to include that in my explanatory text. This is probably the finest and most dramatic example of columnar basalt that I’ve ever seen. The Giants Causeway is another. I’m not familiar with Staffa.

      • I will jog your memory by saying ‘Fingals Cave’..The famous cave that inspired the music….all solid basalt apart from this fault where the sea enters.

      • krikitarts says:

        But of course I know the music! It’s Vaughn Williams,m isn’t it?…no, Mendelssohn, the Hebrides Overture! I can hear it in my mind’s ear. I had never heard of Staffa, so I looked it up, and it’s really spectacular. I’d love to see that some day! Have you been?

  2. I find that the magic is always in the first visit; subsequent visits never match that first flush of excitement. Beautiful photo and it was to your advantage that the light was fading because the waterfall looks silken.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’ve usually found the same thing, but not always. I really do love to revisit places that I’ve found to be special, and there are times when the follow-ups far surpass the initial looks. I think these are the exception, however; first times certainlly do carry most of the magic.

  3. seekraz says:

    Very nice, love the rock, too…volcanic-born.

  4. krikitarts says:

    I did, too. I’d love to have had a closer look, but I saw no way to approach it without wading and/or swimming. Maybe next time I’ll take a full crew of assistants with me…

  5. Finn Holding says:

    Very cool rocks! I love the shape of the water coming over the tops of the columns making it look as though it’s made up of lots of little waterfalls. I wonder how the tree trunks ended up in there – did they come over the waterfall during a flood?

Leave a Reply

