Creamy Crabapple

I have mentioned in recent posts how much earlier the signs of spring have arrived this year than we normally expect.  I also mentioned, as an example, that our crabapple tree has burst into full blossom more than a month earlier than was the case last year.  It’s been too windy for the past few days to get detailed shots of the blossoms, but today is much calmer—and a little cooler.  An absolutely beautiful day.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creamy Crabapple

  1. Frank Wallace says:

    Very nice. Almost an abstract look to the background.

  2. krikitarts says:

    That is the effect I was trying to achieve. I didn’t use any diffusing filters or any other Photoshop special effects, but chose minimum smoothing with my Photomatix HDR program and gave it a second tonemapping pass. I love what it did to the bark.

  3. zannyro says:

    So delicate! Nice!

  4. krikitarts says:

    Thanks, Suzanne, It’s worth the wait for a period of calm. Because they’re so delicate, the slightest breeze sets the petals to fluttering.

  5. Meanderer says:

    How lovely. The image has a fresh, ‘zingy’, invigorating feel to it!

  6. Finn Holding says:

    Gorgeous flowers. It must have been warmer earlier where you are than here, I’ve got a crab apple tree in my front garden and it’s showing little sign of blossom yet despite very warm weather for the last week.

    • krikitarts says:

      Rest assured that it will come, Finn, and probably earlier than last year–please let me know if this turns out to be the case. I’m really concerned, as you may have noticed from my recent posts, about the unnatural early arrival of the too-warm weather.

Leave a Reply

