Places Remembered: Mt. Glorious

It was February 1995 and I had a day of exploration and travel.  I had just visited a friend in the Moreton Bay Region of Queensland, Australia, some 35 km northwest of Brisbane.  As I rounded a curve in the road, I was greeted by a grand view across a lovely valley.  A nice, dark summer storm was approaching rather rapidly; Mt. Glorious was still in view but its details were being quickly obscured by the low clouds.  I parked as soon as possible, set up my tripod quickly, and had enough time to squeeze off only a few frames before the rain hit.  In that brief moment, a thinning area in the thick cloud cover passed over and let enough diffuse light through to illuminate the graceful eucalypts in the foreground.

Metadata:  Pentax PZ-1, Pentax 100-300 zoom at 215mm, Fuji Provia 100 slide film, 1/6 second af f/8, UV filter.

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Places Remembered and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Places Remembered: Mt. Glorious

  1. wolke205 says:

    I m not sure about if a summer storm can be nice ;) But it let you capture a great photo, I love the intense color of the sky :)

    • krikitarts says:

      A summer storm can be very nice indeed–provided you’re either dressed for it or able to watch it from some comfy shelter. On another hand, I’ve always loved the sound of rain on a tent–provided I didn’t have to put it up (and won’t have to take it down) in the rain!

Leave a Reply

