Serenity Sunday: Fiddlehead Fascination

(I realize that I posted my Silly Saturday this morning rather than yesterday, thereby compromising to some extent my own usually-impregnable truth-in-advertising policy and, if any of you were clicking your tongues at me, I’m sorry for the slip.  But I digress.)

Yes, it is Sunday, and time for a little more serenity, my favorite state of mind.  For this week’s offering, I’m taking us back to the winter (August) of 1998 and the Botanical Gardens in Canberra, Australia Capital Territory (ACT).  I had concluded a work day early and there was time to go into the green with a friend and fellow photographer.  We had been there before, a year earlier, and we had eagerly agreed to go again, should time permit.  It was a beautiful day with clear, deep blue skies and very little wind.  Shortly after starting our walk on the first path into the lush greenery, the canopy closed over us and we were in deep shadow.  I have long been fascinated by the sensuous symmetry of an unfolding fern, and here were some magnificent examples.  This one in particular attracted me, standing out against its further-developed brethren.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Fiddlehead Fascination

  1. Such a fascinating image, and the colors so rich! Beautiful!

    • krikitarts says:

      The colors in that part of the world can be spectacular. I’m not sure about Australia, but I know that in New Zealand it has quite a bit to do with the thinness of the ozone layer, which lets more UV light through than the rest of us are used to. Thanks for the compliment!

  2. Shutter Bug says:

    Lovely! I really like the contrast in shape and color between the curled up shoot and the fully opened leaves.

  3. Adrian Lewis says:

    That’s a very beautiful photo, Gary! Composition is right on, the fern leaves look positively tropical, and the orange bits(!) in the upstanding ?frond add just that bit of different colour which really makes the shot. Excellent stuff! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      I love that photo, too; so happy that you also liked it–thanks a lot! I still can’t believe the depth of the greens. You’d think it had been an overcast, rainy day in the late afternoon or early evening, my favorite shooting conditions (unless it’s accompanied by strong wind).

Leave a Reply

