Places remembered: White Oak Canyon

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to share photos of some of my favorite places from my travels, probably adding a (fairly frequent) Friday Flashback to my website protocol.  It’s only Tuesday now, but I’m eager to start on the project.  So here’s my first installment…

My job from 1990 through ’96 was located in the Washington, DC area, and we settled in Fairfax, Virginia for the duration.  While we were there, we explored quite a bit of the surrounding country, and one place we discovered, that turned out to be a family favorite, was White Oak Canyon, a pleasant drive of a little over an hour to the southwest, near the tiny town of Syria and not far from Old Rag Mountain.  The job was moved (to our joy) to Omaha in ’96 and then again (to our dismay) back to Washington at the end of 2007.  I went back alone and roomed as frugally as possible until my retirement 2½ years later.  For the first year my transportation was limited to bicycle and metro (subway), but when our younger daughter moved to New Zealand, I was able to bring our second car out with me.  One of the first things I did was to rekindle my old friendship with White Oak Canyon, and I returned several times before leaving the east coast behind for good.  It remains high on my list of favorite places, and I’d like to re-activate some of my favorite photos.  (The first is from a slide I made back in the 90s.)

White Oak Canyon, 1990s

Downstream 10

Upstream 26

Quiet Pool 868

Quiet Pool 46

Turtle Rock 69

Trillium 5635

Wood Violets 5641

Vine and Lichens 152

Redbud and Lower Falls 5683

Lower Falls 880-1-2

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Places remembered: White Oak Canyon

  1. I love the ethereal nature of the first photo. I imagine a fantastical world exists beyond the mist. Your photos are inspiring!

    • krikitarts says:

      Your instincts are quite right. There really is a special feel about the place, almost enchanted and elvish. I’ve not been there in winter, but even in early spring and late autumn I’ve felt privileged to be able to step into its special world.

  2. MikeP says:

    Oh yeah…. these are beautiful photos. You really caught the place in the right light. I love the compositions in this set. Where exactly is White Oak and Old Rag Mt. if you don’t mind as I still live on the east coast?

  3. kerryl29 says:

    Beautiful set of shots. I’ve been threatening to make a pilgrimage to VA/MD for photography one of these days and, if (when?) I do, I’ll be sure to take a long hard look at White Oak Canyon since Shenandoah NP would certainly be at the top of my list of places to visit.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks, Kerry, for the kind comments! I haven’t been there in winter, but my other trips tell me it’s great any time of year, though you’d really have to watch your step if it’s snowy or especially if it’s icy. It’s a pretty popular place on fine days in summer, so if you go then, be ready for lots of company on the trail. Much more seclusion in spring and late fall, after the leaves have lost their color. My favorite time is around the first week of October, when I made the 2nd and 3rd shots in my post. Hope you get to go! Drop me a line in advance if you do, please.

  4. I really enjoyed these waterscapes…very nicely done.

  5. wolke205 says:

    Looks like it s out of a Fairytale, wonderful!

Leave a Reply

