Places remembered: Floriade

Actually, Floriade is not a place; it is an event.  But first…

I find that I carry nearly all of the images I’ve made and liked over the years in a special part of my mind and can usually recall any one at will, and can also locate any given one (negative, slide, or digital file) within a few seconds if I need or want to.  Frequently some current experience will trigger a link back to one of these images from the past, and for the last couple of days, gazing out at the drab winter landscape, with only a slight hint of green in the grass, only a few grimly determined and long-dead leaves clinging desperately to the bare branches, and mostly gray skies, has focused this inner vision of mine back to a beautiful spring day in 2007—September 20, to be exact.  The place was Canberra, the capital city of Australia.  I had been in the country mainly for work, and it had taken me around much of this incredibly diverse and fascinating country over the course of the past four weeks and a little bit more.  (This is one of my favorite countries, and I’ll be posting more about it in the near future.)  By way of further introduction, let me refer back to my journal from that trip.  As we pick up the story, I had had a light breakfast, conducted my exit meetings in the morning, and just finished doing some last-minute shopping and returned to my hotel room to change and grab my camera gear…

I had the afternoon completely free now, and I walked for about 45 minutes, through a small park where a bold Magpie kept a sharp eye on me, to a much larger park where a huge, annual spring flower show called Floriade (pron. flory-odd) was underway.

The rain had stopped by the time I started my walk, and I didn’t think it would rain much more if it should decide to resume, so I left my umbrella in the room, but wore my hat and my waterproof jacket, of course.  Actually it was farther away than I’d thought, but I did not mind the exercise in the least.   Even when the rain did resume, shortly after I arrived at the site, there was enough occasional shelter for me to duck in and wait until it lightened up again.  When it caught me in the open, I kept my camera inside my jacket, and I was just fine.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Places remembered: Floriade

  1. Emily Gooch says:

    What beautiful images to brighten my dreary winter day! :)

  2. MikeP says:

    At first I thought you spelled Florida wrong :-) That bird came out really nice but my favs are the flowers… very nice DOF and colors.

Leave a Reply

