New beginnings and a watery end

As the end of 2011 approached, I had visions of completing my 100th post before the start of the new year, but it wasn’t to be.  I seemed to be making good progress for a while, but with too many other irons in my fire, most of them totally delightful family priorities—including having both daughters home for Christmas for the first time since 2004, there was simply not enough time to devote to a new quality post.  They left yesterday and one is already back in New Zealand and the other is spending a few days in Australia before joining her, and we are in the throes of massive cleanup, leftover coordination and planning, laundry, and the like.  As if to remind me that I needed a kick start to get the new year’s WordPress project rolling again, when I went to fill the cats’ water bowl this morning, I found that one of our common little yellow spiders (which I have identified as a prowling or black-footed spider, genus Strotarchus) had fallen in and had drowned.  I had enough time to myself to arrange a little posthumous photo tribute, placing the little body on a big sycamore leaf that appeared in the yard a couple of days ago.  I tried several different macro techniques, and the best result was with my little Pentax Optio W-90, in digital microscope mode.  And so here is my first 2012 offering.  Happy New Year!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New beginnings and a watery end

  1. MikeP says:

    He looks better than I would if I had fallen in… :-)

Leave a Reply

