Big birds back

As I went to put out the recycling this afternoon, I was delighted to find that our local gang of 18 turkeys was foraging on the eastern edge of our yard.  I slowly retreated back into the house, hastily affixed my telephoto lens to my favorite camera, and slowly went back out, undertaking a careful approach.  Over the course of the next half-hour, by avoiding eye contact and taking baby-steps, I was able to approach them to within a reasonable distance without causing any alarm among the flock.  What a joy!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Big birds back

  1. MikeP says:

    Turkeys…. no wonder people eat them. :-) Not the prettiest bird by far but have and interesting face.

    • krikitarts says:

      What? You don’t think they’re beautiful? Look beyond the head and consider their magnificent feathers! I tie flies for trout fishing and turkey feathers are a staple. They’re beautiful from a distance, but up close they really are works of wonder!

  2. jackien50 says:

    Everything on this Earth is Beautiful and useful in a secret way,
    the way God meant them to be in this World.
    I think all of your pictures are of Beauty, Inspiration and Passion!
    ~ I see you behind the Camera but I also see God has given you such wonderful gifts.
    ~ Family ~ Work ~ and your Passion for Life…

    Can’t wait to see all the families next year. It seems so far away but time flies very fast and it will be here in no time! Can’t wait to say hi to you again! The pictures of you from the old days reminds me of the summers spent in Stougton with my Great Aunts. That is how I remember you as a child.
    Love & Hugs
    J ~

Leave a Reply

