Turning Over an Old Leaf

As autumn winds its way down to the inevitable delights of winter, my fascination with the fading—but still seemingly limitless—palette of color available to those of us who take the time to look closely is not dampened, but enhanced.  I included a study in detail of a Black Oak leaf in the small gallery of photos that accompanied my post of November 12 (here), and I’d like to share some others, including one of a different leaf from the same tree.  With one exception, all of the leaves in this portfolio are from our own trees and bushes:  The Bradford Pear pear lives about ¼ mile distant.

Sycamore

Highbush Cranberry

Fothergilla

Three-Lobed Sumac

Maple

Pin Oak

Black Oak

Bradford Pear

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Turning Over an Old Leaf

  1. MikeP says:

    Really cool post… I have never heard of a ‘fothergilla’…thanks.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks, Mike! And thanks also for planting the idea for a new post featuring the Fothergilla (I just published it a couple of minutes ago). Your new post is beautiful–I’ll comment in more detail there.

  2. mina says:

    beautiful collection … i love the colours, the shapes and what they make together …. i think they would look great in one frame, all photos next to each other …

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks for visiting, and I’m really glad that you like them! My younger daughter has a full set (of 8x10s) and will be putting them up for display. I hadn’t thought about combining them into one frame, though–what an interesting idea! And thanks also for subscribing!

    • krikitarts says:

      Hi again, Mina,
      I have taken your suggestion to heart and have created a new display of my favorites from this study all together in a 13×19-inch format, and I am very well pleased with the result. Since you are the inspiration for this project, would you like a print?

Leave a Reply

